Georgia (New blog, new song. Happy Thanksgiving)

For the first time in four long years,
I sat down tonight to write you a song,
Maybe it’s just from the atmosphere
Or cause Georgia’s where my Daddy was born

Maybe you were my Isaac
and that’s why I brought you back here
To meet my Grandmothers people
To lay you down on the family alter

For the sweetest time in your young life
You found a second place you could call home
To talk about marriage and children
To wrap around your little finger and leave it

Maybe you were my Isaac
and thats why I brought you back here
To meet my Grandmothers people
And lay you down on the family alter

For the last time we’ll say our goodbyes
And say Georgia has served us all well
With just half a dozen funerals
The red clay is already melting

Maybe it was my Isaac
and that’s why it has brought me back here
Just to know my Grandmothers people
And lay them down on the Family alter

Leave a Reply

