while the calender flips

 

Image

So this is what it’s like, 

it’s what they meant by love turning to hate, or existing with it, being entangled

while I sit at my desk, 

while the calender flips, months then years

and just overhearing a song 

or one letter of your name does every unsavory thing to me.

I’d like to believe I’m only angry from bitterness

I’d like to believe I am not unforgiving

I’d also like to believe I have no regrets

But none of that is the whole truth

We are the whole truth, and you’re still long gone 

I’ve kept you that way because it’s so much easier

to love and hate you 

from this distance

 

Leave a Reply

