Running 3 miles (barefoot, uphill, in the snow) to church

You’re always fine
Except these times
You’re fighting with yourself
You’re fighting with shadows
Fighting with memories
Fighting with consequence
You think you’re fighting loyalty
You think you’re fighting with love

Y’all, Somedays I just don’t have it in me. Some days I look around to see if anyone else does. They don’t know what to do either. They’re just trying to make it… Everybody has their own way of living one more day. Some are doing well, juggling tragedy, and staying on their feet. Some are coming apart at every seam. Some of you are coasting thru and if you’ve got a struggle nobody knows it, yet.

It’s easy to turn to other people, to see how they cope or compensate. To see if they can help us cope. I have too often run to people, used people to cope. I’m learning better again. Yesterday I stood myself up and went for a run, looking for an answer instead of a coping mechanism or a coping person. I’m not saying there’s no room to turn to people, but we shouldn’t be depending on any outside substance for our own survival or well being. I have done it, I watch others do the same. There’s this line I love, “When you run, be sure you run to something and not away from…” There is one source. While I was running I was listening to this…

1 Peter 5
8-11 Keep a cool head. Stay alert. The Devil is poised to pounce, and would like nothing better than to catch you napping. Keep your guard up. You’re not the only ones plunged into these hard times. It’s the same with Christians all over the world. So keep a firm grip on the faith. The suffering won’t last forever. It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ—eternal and glorious plans they are!—will have you put together and on your feet for good. He gets the last word; yes, he does.

Take it, believe it, whatever your trouble is, whatever your burden, your environment, whatever your mistake, whatever your temporary self sufficiency… See yourself, then let yourself be put back together. For me I have to get quiet in my mind, sometimes it takes a few miles for me to get there, but when I’m open to it, the answer meets me where I am. Whether I’ve hit a wall or I’m running for it.

Leave a Reply

